Assessment of Points
Punishment for driving offenses is calibrated in terms of “points,” which accumulate on your license. A driver’s license is automatically suspended in Pennsylvania upon the imposition of 11 points or more. The length of suspension depends on the number of suspensions in the past and ranges from five days to one year. If a driver reaches six points, they must take a written examination to avoid license suspension. A driver who reaches six points repeatedly may face a departmental hearing and 15-day license suspension. An experienced Pennsylvania traffic violation attorney can help prepare you for this type of departmental hearing, as well as offer advice about how to best avoid the imposition of the maximum penalties.
In Pennsylvania, the most common driving infractions are assessed the following number of points:
- Running a red light: 3 points
- Following too closely/improper passing: 3 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus: 5 points and mandatory 30-day suspension
- 6 to 10 miles per hour over speed limit: 2 points
- 11 to 15 miles per hour over speed limit: 3 points
- 16 to 25 miles per hour over speed limit: 4 points
- 26 to 30 miles per hour over speed limit: 5 points
- 31 miles per hour over speed limit or more: 5 points plus additional sanctions
- Speeding in construction zone: Points as listed above, plus 15-day mandatory license suspension (for 11 miles per hour over or more)
The DMV will remove three points from the license of a driver who successfully goes 12 months (from the date of the last traffic violation) without a new violation.
Contact an Experienced Pennsylvania Traffic Violation Attorney Today
The Law Offices of James Crosby can help you if you are facing a traffic violation in Pennsylvania. For more information or to make an appointment, call 412-391-0123 today.